Johnny Heisman: Manziel Wins 2012 Heisman Trophy

December 8, 2012 12 Comments »

On Saturday evening, it was announced (after the show on ESPN was set to end at 9pm, by the way) that Johnny Manziel, freshman quarterback at Texas A&M, won the 2012 Heisman Trophy.  He becomes the first freshman to win the award in its history.

The final vote was as follows (first-place votes in parenthesis):

Johnny Manziel (TAMU): 2,029 points (474)
Manti Te’o (ND): 1,706 points (321)
Collin Klein (KSU): 894 points (60)
Marqise Lee (USC): 207 points (19)
Braxton Miller (OSU): 144 points (3)

Manziel won five of the six Heisman regions, and in the one that Manti Te’o carried — the Midwest — he lost by just three points.

The best player in the country this season won, in my estimation. Congratulations to Johnny Heisman.

Related Posts